In Pursuit of a Blanket Fort

I’m not sure how it started. Did it start when I was a bit disgruntled after a meeting and ‘accidentally’ bought a bunch of Knitsch Worsted in Tangerine?

Nothing is better than a yarn hug

Nothing is better than a yarn hug

Did it begin when I learned the granny square and started to become obsessive?

A Granny Square Pile Up

A Granny Square Pile Up

Did it begin when I started seeing the squares from the Geek-A-Long Blanket popping up on Instagram?

However it began, I have three blankets now on the go. I lack remorse. Instead, I have plans for a blanket fort! Who wants to join me?

The granny squares are progressing nicely. I’m experimenting with a white border and I think two rows per square is enough, although I’m still mulling over three.

Granny squares squared

Granny squares squared

I’ve also started another colour. There’s one thing about this blanket – it’s using up the sock yarn stash of multi-hued madness. The colours just come to life.

Another day, another colour palette

Another day, another colour palette

Crochet is brilliant! Why was I so slow to learn? It’s a perfect occupation while riding buses and waiting in cafes for friends. I have so many plans…

Speaking of which, my Tangerine Knitsch perfectly complements my favourite flowers, the nasturtiums.

No filter required

No filter required

I’ve begun a Dahlia Blanket. It was a love-at-first-sight pattern and I don’t regret it for a moment. It’s one of those knitting projects where you stop every few stitches just to enjoy it all over again.

Dahlia in progress

Dahlia in progress

Then, because I’m upskilling, have been wanting to try double knitting, and was loving watching Geek-A-Long squares popping up…

Oh, who am I kidding? I saw The Princess Bride square and that was that. So I’ve begun at the point of inspiration, but have decided to be a rebel and am doing it all in shades in pink and green for a girlier geeky blanket.

My pensive Dread Pirate Roberts

My pensive Dread Pirate Roberts

Incidentally, I just read As You Wish and it’s great fun. Cary Elwes is so dastardly charming! I’ve been watching him in Psych too, but was there ever a more perfect swashbuckling pirate?

Anyway, in the midst of all this frenzied blanketing (totally a word), I also discovered the perfect rose growing in my garden.

Now to find a prince to curse...

Now to find a prince to curse…

One response to “In Pursuit of a Blanket Fort

  1. Princess Bride square???!!???

Leave a Reply

