KAN Nights… and Days

I wish life wasn’t so busy. There’s so much I want to record, but every time I think I have time to sit down and write up a proper post, other deadlines come fluttering in and problems rear their heads.

But a couple of weeks ago, I did sneak away to New Zealand for a few days. It wasn’t really intentional. I’m not really sure how it happened. I was going to KAN (Knit August Knights).

I flew over to Wellington first. This was our idea of breakfast.

Sweet Pea, Wellington

Sweet Pea, Wellington

It was a full day of flying about the city and its yarn stores! A huge lunch of ribs and dirty rice and dash into the TARDIS… okay, it’s really just elevator doors, but how cool are they?

Bigger on the inside!

Bigger on the inside!

Also a quick drive down the coast and, of course, gelati. There was strawberry and balsamic along with cucumber and lime. Bliss. (Did you know Peter Capaldi, the 12th Doctor, basically comes from a family of gelati-makers? He couldn’t be more perfect.)

All you need is gelati

All you need is gelati

We collapsed that evening with Doctor Who and tacos. It was going to be an early morning.

We set out on our road trip with the Ram They Call Jayne and some coffee!

The Ram They Call Jayne getting caffeinated

The Ram They Call Jayne getting caffeinated

I bought the Ram They Call Jayne on our last New Zealand adventure, so he couldn’t be left behind this time. We had a gorgeous, big breakfast at a cute little cafe and sang along to Once More With Feeling as we drove. I was assured my singing wasn’t that bad and The Ram They Call Jayne wanted to take the wheel and drive through the fire.

I will drive through the fire, 'cause where else can I turn

I will drive through the fire, ’cause where else can I turn

KAN was held in Napier, Art Deco capital of New Zealand. I love Art Deco.

Tobacco never looked so good

Tobacco never looked so good

Ghosts of past office workers

Ghosts of past office workers

Nothing like a pink shell

Nothing like a pink shell

KAN was fantastic. I learned new skills, collected yarn, met other knitters. It was amazing and at times a little overwhelming – I’m so totally bad at dealing with crowds!

But there was always a rainbow of Knitsch to reassure me.

Yarn Rainbow

Yarn Rainbow

I won’t share everything I bought in one go – that would be showing off! But I will be showing off my new ninja* fibre skills in the coming weeks along with a few new exciting projects!

*Not really ninja, but add ninja to anything and it just sounds better!

 

One response to “KAN Nights… and Days

Leave a Reply

