The Animals We Love

The other day, a Twitter friend lost her dog. I’d never met her. I’d never met her dog. But, geez, I loved that dog! He was a character and I was so sad when she tweeted the news. I’ll genuinely miss him.

Losing animals is rough. I still think about my hens at least a few times a day, I still expect to find Cosette trying to boss her way inside or Lola waiting for me to do her bidding or Fifi giving me that look as if to say, ‘They’re a bunch of nutty chickens, aren’t they? How do we put up with them?’ Fifi was always the one with the sense to get in out of the rain.

I’ve seen some extraordinary and wonderful tributes in the wake of loss, like Sue Perkins’ letter to Pickle or Jimmy Stewart’s poem about his dog, Beau. There are many others out there, letters and poems that not only celebrate the lives of some fantastic animals, but also relate that shared experience of loss. Those faces we see every day are so very loved. Recently I did a quiz to find out which Hogwarts House I’d be in (Hufflepuff, of course). One of the questions involved a choice of magical gifts. I chose the ability to talk to animals. I think it’d be a hoot to talk to the Scot and I wish I’d been able to chat to Lola. She was always full of things to say. Mind, I expect if I could have talked to her, she’d have spent most of her time ordering me about…

I am queen of the castle, everyone else is a dirty rascal!

I am queen of the castle, everyone else is a dirty rascal!

Yes, I have a special soft spot for Lola. If you’d met her, you’d have understood. Mind, I have a special soft spot for them all, but today I was thinking particularly about Lola and I know she wouldn’t mind the tribute.

Anyway, enough sadness! I posted about being okay with my quirky style. The poor Scot! He was quite the hit at the dog park, though, when he wore the new harness I sewed for him.

You said we were going on a walk. Why are you standing there with that black box?

You said we were going on a walk. Why are you standing there with that black box?

Actually, I think the Scot is more of an Iron Man fan. They share a certain desire for attention. Anyone seen Iron Man fabric??

I was really pleased with how the harness turned out! If you look closely, you’ll see that it almost looks like Spiderman is holding his lead in his hand… or, at least the bunch of sausages that now passes for his lead!

It's so embarrassing what you do to me.

It’s so embarrassing what you do to me.

Yes, he has much to put up with! Particularly since I have plots for my own dressmaking that may be inspired by this creation of cats at the cinema, some knitting. Yes… I may have ordered some of the fabric… it is simply too awesome to ignore.

 

Leave a Reply

