Getting geeky about Victorian sock knitting

Victorian royalty knitting

Victorian royalty knitting

Remember when my father found this photo of Queen Victoria and her daughter in law knitting? And Queen Victoria is knitting a sock in the photograph?

My research has lately been taking me into the Victorian period and as I work through all the amazing material to hand, I, of course, keep an eye open for anything knitting related. So how happy was I to find this Victorian colour picture book with Cinderella knitting a sock right there on the cover?

Cinderella knits socks to keep her stepsisters toes warm

Cinderella knits socks to keep her stepsisters toes warm

Isn’t she gorgeous with those English rose cheeks and long blonde curls? But… seriously… I love the fairy godmother! Look at that sartorial style – she rocks! And she knows it!

And then, not so work-related, but still rather fun…

Cats! Knitting!

Cats! Knitting!

1884 knitting book! With an illustration of a cat knitting a sock on the cover! I totally geeked out over this!

A beautiful sock

A beautiful sock

The patterns inside are so intriguing. One day, I might do a Franklin Habit and try to knit up the patterns, but for now I’ll enjoy staring in amazement, imagining the Victorian women who picked up their needles and set to work.

Mittens!

Mittens!

I was especially excited to see the mittens. I love mittens.

Would knitted suspenders really hold up your trousers?

Would knitted suspenders really hold up your trousers?

But the suspenders really made me laugh.

 

Addendum: I just noticed a great comment on the previous post about the photo suggesting it’s the Duchess of Teck and future Queen Mary, rather than Victoria and her daughter-in-law. Yes! I hadn’t thought of the Duchess of Teck, but that does fit the bill. I think I got sidetracked by knowing that Victoria knitted. The Duchess of Teck and Queen Victoria were cousins, so there is some family resemblance, too!

Leave a Reply

