When I grow up, I’m going to be Miss Marple…

I broke my camera. I had no idea how lost I’d feel without my camera. It hit home that I daily take photos of the Scot, of Cosette, of works in progress, of things discovered, plants that are growing and so on. I read somewhere that 10% of the world’s photos were taken last year. I think I might have taken half of those.

Still, it was strange not having a camera. I finished off my Highlander plaid socks, too.

There can only be... two?

There can only be… two?

Remember Highlander? Whether the film with Sean Connery playing a Spaniard (see this comedy bit about the film starting around 3.50 – so totally true) or the series with Peter Wingfield as Methos (okay, he wasn’t the main character or, in fact, a Highlander, but I liked Methos better). “There can only be one,” the catchphrase went. Basically, it’s about Immortals who go around beheading one another with swords. What’s not to love?

On top of the camera being broken, Mrs Higgins, my trusty sewing machine, broke! I figured out that her belt had started to split, so we bought a new one and I figured out how to replace it, which wasn’t that difficult. She’s back in business now. In fact, just the other day, a friend came over for some quilting.

While everything was breaking around me, however, I did finally go back to something I’d been ignoring for a while. During my PhD and for the few years after that, I was doing a lot of counted cross stitch. It was soothing. It was just enough to keep my mind occupied on things without being too intense. Little crosses. Pretty simple. However, half way through a project, I just stopped cross stitching. The embroidery frame sat in the corner of the lounge room, reproachful.

Last Saturday evening, a Miss Marple mystery on television, I pulled it out and set the needle going again.

Elizabethan acorns

Elizabethan acorns

It’ll be a cushion when finished. I spent the evening with Miss Marple, then a 50s vicar, then Midsomer Murders, where Edward Fox and Phyllida Law ate up the lovely scenery. Can I say, that was one of the best evenings I’ve spent in a long time? I went to bed with absolutely no stress.

So, tonight it’s time to do it all over again. It’s raining, it’s cold, I’m going to make pizza and sit and stitch and slowly turn into Miss Marple.

So watch out if you murder someone!

 

 

One response to “When I grow up, I’m going to be Miss Marple…

  1. i love the sean connery highlander, the socks are beautiful and i am glad you made two! i am not good with tiny little hand things, sewing never a strong point, but i am thinking about doing some hand quilting. it sounds like it would be relaxing. its a lovely pattern you’re working on.

Leave a Reply

