Have fun storming the castle!

Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall

Luckily, one of my all-time favourite books is also one of my all-time favourite films, The Princess Bride. I’ve often argued you can’t get a more perfect fairy tale.

I was really lucky when, on a trip to the UK, I managed to run away to Bakewell. The Princess Bride was filmed in the area, at spots including Haddon Hall.

All Hail Buttercup!

All Hail Buttercup!

You can see the courtyard in the still above. My friend and I were giggling through the courtyard, crying “Bow to the Queen of Slime, the Queen of Filth, the Queen of Putrescence. Boo. Boo. Rubbish. Filth. Slime. Muck. Boo. Boo. Boo.” We bewildered a few tourists.

There is even an example of 17th century knitting in their castle museum!

A very old WIP

A very old WIP

All of which is a long preface to my finished “Haddon Hall Striped Socks with ROUSes.”

To wear in the Fire Swamps

To wear in the Fire Swamps

Tash of Knitsch Yarns helped picked the colours, Pencarrow and Sweetheart, to fulfil my craving for bright pink striped socks. I’m very pleased with how they look! I still haven’t mastered the jogless stripe, but putting ROUSes on the toes? Priceless!

And just because these berries on a bush in my front garden are the most amazing pink…

Berries

Berries

One response to “Have fun storming the castle!

  1. Heh, I’m giggling about the princess bride reference. So funny. I love the way you work your cultural favourites into your knitting, Dr Who now ROUSes. Gorgeous gorgeous pink. Great socks.

Leave a Reply

