Birthdays, Biscuits and Socks… oh my!

This little guy just turned the big THREE

This little guy just turned the big THREE

Yes, I celebrate my dog’s birthdays. Why not? I’m positive he doesn’t worry about turning another year older, but it’s rather fun to spoil him rotten for a day!

This year, after a long evening walk, he tucked into his birthday cake, made from spelt flour, oats and peanut butter. I put 3 little chew bones on top. Watching the cake disappear was hilarious.

Birthday cake time

Birthday cake time

Of course, I usually indulge in crazy baking antics for my dog…

The Scot eats the heads off Time Lords

The Scot eats the heads off Time Lords

Yes, I might have splurged on Doctor Who cookie cutters.

Tea Time with Time Lords

Tea Time with Time Lords

I’m desperately looking forward to tonight’s Doctor Who. Dougray Scott as a professor? I’m there!

I have been sock knitting. My first plaid sock is done. This is the sock I’ve been knitting on buses, trains and… ahem… occasionally in class.

Plaid in Autumn

Plaid in Autumn

I love how the simple stitch pattern brings variegated yarns to life and gives them a rather cool plaid effect.

Rosemary & Plaid

Rosemary & Plaid

I couldn’t resist adding another sideways heel! Which created a whole new and interesting plaid effect!

The Back End of Plaid

The Back End of Plaid

I’m also busy on my striped socks – isn’t the pop of Knitsch colour incredible?

Doing things with stripes

Doing things with stripes

I added a little crenellation to one row of stripes, so around the heel there’s a little castle parapet. At least, in  my mind there is!

One response to “Birthdays, Biscuits and Socks… oh my!

  1. gorgeous socks, gorgeous puppy! happy birthday The Scot. and those cookie cutters are hilarious. who knew you could even get such things!

Leave a Reply

