Down the yellow brick road

Turning mulberry leaves

Turning mulberry leaves

Usually we associate yellow with spring. Daffodils. Sunshine. Cotton dresses. But I also love the burst of bright yellow colour in Autumn as the leaves change and the last of the summer vegetables attempt to beat the winter in.

Growing zucchini

Growing zucchini

Ripening pear tomatoes

Ripening pear tomatoes

Baby spaghetti

Baby spaghetti squash

There’s something wonderful about growing food! I’ve loved the tomatoes this year, especially my yellow pear tomatoes that pop against the hurly-burly of the red ox hearts and tommy toes.

Tomato medley

Tomato medley

A spot of yellow

A spot of yellow

And what is cooler and more amazing than growing your own spaghetti?

Spaghetti that's a vegetable

Spaghetti that’s a vegetable

I’ve just come in from the garden, actually. A little scamp came bursting in after me, even though he was supposed to stay outside and get dry.

Muddy pawprints

Muddy pawprints

I suppose that was inevitable. Of course, he then compounded his crime.

The Scot in soggy repose

The Scot in soggy repose

Yes, I’m washing the couch cover. This little detail didn’t enter his post-ball-obsessed brain. Oh well. He’s staying in one place for a moment.

I may have ordered some yellow sock yarn in my haze of autumnal romanticism, but honestly, Sokkusu is back and there is a sale. Sale yarn doesn’t count, right? And yellow yarn is one of my great weaknesses. I do have a design idea I’m dying to try…

I also might have fallen in love with this design from the new Twist Collective, but after the momentary Sokkusu madness, I’d better wait a couple of weeks before ordering more yarn… oops?

And now I’d better get back to something else I’m working on that may have something to do with typing and the title of this post. And Aunty Em. I have plans. Wicked plans that might turn me green (come on, you get the pun, right?).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

