I Turned The Almighty Answer to the Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything

Me and Granny Mac

Me and Granny Mac

Okay, cue obligatory baby photo. This is sort of a birthday post. By the way, that’s me and Granny Mac, the first of many adopted grannies I collected in life. Granny Mac makes me think of Pratchett’s Grannies. She was wise. She made excellent ham and pea soup. She bossed Mum about. And she was Scottish, which made her very cool! And I do still miss her, but I think we suited each other best as Granny and wee bairn. She always said I was an old soul and looking at that photo, I think we got along just great.

It’s actually a significant birthday, though! Oh no, I don’t really hyper-celebrate birthdays that end in ‘0.’ There’s always a whiff of disappointment about them. I mean really significant birthdays, like when I turned 33 at the Bird and Baby, because hobbits come of age at 33 (which is a much more sensible time to come of age).

But now I am The Almighty Answer to the Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything and that’s kind of exciting. It needed to be celebrated.

Celebrating The Almighty Answer to the Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything with strawberry cakes

Celebrating The Almighty Answer to the Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything with strawberry cakes

Mum came to visit, so we could celebrate together. And sew together. We had a great deal of fun.

A Spotted Macaron

A Spotted Macaron

This is the finished Colette Macaron – although it hasn’t been ironed and don’t ask what that one sleeve is doing. If I didn’t feel the weight of the meaning of life, the universe and everything, I wouldn’t be lazy and would take a better picture. I’ve been wanting to sew one forever, though. The pockets are brilliant and, much like turning the heel of a knitted sock, make me feel ridiculously clever when I accomplish them. The pattern actually fits me, too. We did do some more sewing, but it’s not finished yet. There may have been swears involved. And an incident with pins.

We came up with future schemes, too. We ransacked the Laura Ashley sale and bought some bed linen.

Fabric plans I

Fabric plans I

Only, this isn’t going to be for the bed. Oh no. We’re cutting up this gorgeous cotton sateen for a dress! Best of both worlds. Fabulous fabric and I also get to go to work in my duvet.

We visited Tessuti, too. Let’s be honest, it’s not ‘my’ kind of store, although it does, undoubtedly, have beautiful fabrics. I’m just a bit quirkier. But I spied a beautifully dressed elderly lady with a bolt of tartan and fell in love with it.

Fabric plans II

Fabric plans II

So we waited for her to be served, then we ran away with the remainder of the bolt, which should be just enough for a tartan dress! It’s the most glorious, light, wool/cashmere blend.

I’m knitting too. I had a taste for stripes and pink, so for a little fun, I pestered Tash at Knitsch and she suggested this colour combination which is satiating the craving.

Stripes are cool

Stripes are cool

More happened… but I can’t tell you everything.

 

 

 

2 responses to “I Turned The Almighty Answer to the Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything

  1. daisybellcrafts

    Adopted grannies are awesome, as you get to choose them, or they choose you 😉
    I also celebrated my ‘hobbit coming of age’ birthday a handful (mind you..just ONE HANDFUL..hehehe) ago. Seems like you had a lovely day, best wishes for the year ahead from someone who also loves Pratchett’s books 🙂

  2. That is a very cool photo of you and Granny Mac, you do look like you are getting on well with her!

    Happy happy birthday! I like the way you think about ends-with-zero birthdays, I tend to agree. Although so far none of them have bothered me, in fact I quite liked my most recent one.

    Great idea on the bed linen fabric, and that is one great tartan! Love it!

Leave a Reply

