I stole a Time Lord and wrapped myself up in a shawl

"The Doctor's Wife Sampler Shawl" designed by me (knitted in Vintage Purls lace)

“The Doctor’s Wife Sampler Shawl” designed by me (knitted in Vintage Purls lace)

This is my big 2012 project. I cast it off and blocked it on December 31.

This is my first self-designed project. I’ve designed socks in the meantime, but this is where the motivation to start designing hit. I was thinking about “The Doctor’s Wife”, one of my favourite Doctor Who episodes. I was thinking about the concept of a sampler shawl. The two ideas spoke to each other and this is the result. I’ll write up a proper post with all the details soon, because everything in the shawl references the episode in some way. I’m really proud of some of the little touches.

Ruffles!

Ruffles!

Of course, I did manage to run out of yarn, but after a dive into my stash, it prompted what was finally a brilliant manoeuver, setting off the entire shawl and staying in theme.

The butterfly tries to upstage "The Doctor's Wife Sampler Shawl"

The butterfly tries to upstage “The Doctor’s Wife Sampler Shawl”

However, today is the first day of 2013, so I’m just going to go and recover from the jelly trifle we – ah – had for lunch.

2 responses to “I stole a Time Lord and wrapped myself up in a shawl

  1. I’m going to be busy with that test knit, aren’t I? it looks amazing though – congrats, and happy new year! 🙂

  2. Wow! It looks amazing! And huge! What a great way to cap off the year.

Leave a Reply

