A Wibbly-Wobbly Christmas

The Scot: I give up. I have no idea what she's up to.

The Scot: I give up. I have no idea what she’s up to.

It was Boxing Day. I had Spoonflower fabric.

Pins! Pins! Pins!

Pins! Pins! Pins!

I decided to make another Meringue skirt. I’m not sure why, but it felt a little naughtier, a little geekier, to be making a Doctor Who skirt than simply wearing a Doctor Who T-shirt.

But you know what else I did?

It has pockets!

It has pockets!

I figured out how to give my meringue skirt POCKETS! I even used piping for the first time. I’ve never sewn pockets OR piping. Consulting with a very clever mother, I figured it all out.

And you know what else?

The pockets are bigger on the inside!

The pockets are bigger on the inside!

I put stars in my pockets!

All in all, it was a great Christmas. The Scot and I made cookies for our dog buddies.

So many dog cookies!

So many dog cookies!

We delivered them all on Christmas Eve.

I picked a purple cabbage from the garden for our Christmas day feast. I swear it was the best part of the dinner!

Purple! Purple cabbage!

Purple! Purple cabbage!

But I could be lying, because although our puddings didn’t look perfect… they were simply delicious.

pudding

Delicious puddings

See the white pudding? That’s jelly. A variety of fruit jellies set in a bigger blancmange. REAL fruit jelly. That’s right – we made it from scratch with actual blueberries, raspberries and oranges. I’m not sure I can ever go back to Aeroplane jelly.

What’s more, we’ve become a little obsessed by the wibbly-wobbly stuff around here. We went looking for moulds, because if you’re going to make good jelly, it needs a good mould. What did we find? 19th century copper jelly moulds! Including one with a squirrel!

Put a squirrel on your jelly!

Put a squirrel on your jelly!

We just tried out our first little mould and seriously… best moulds ever! This is a soy chai jelly. (No, we do not allow boring jellies in this household!)

soychai

So, with this image, I wish you a wibbly-wobbly Christmas and a timey-wimey New Year!

One response to “A Wibbly-Wobbly Christmas

  1. Awesome! Much better than my Boxing Day.

Leave a Reply

