I Stole Idris

No secrets here. I love “The Doctor’s Wife.”

When Knitsch produced the Idris colourway, of course I stole some away!

I ran away with Idris to see the universe

I ran away with Idris to see the universe

I even made a new bag for her! (Seriously, Spoonflower should just take all my money – have you seen thirdhalfstudio’s Tardis Blue Willow?)

And then I invented a sock with her. Warning, there is pooling involved. I know normally we wrinkle our noses at pooling, but I didn’t adjust the design, because I think the pooling actually works here. It looks kind of spacey-wacey.

Don't avert your eyes - pooling doesn't maim

Don’t avert your eyes – pooling doesn’t maim

See the little circle-y things? Don’t they remind you of the TARDIS console? And see the heel there? It’s on an angle! I know some bright sparks have probably already discovered this, but I was over the moon to hit upon a way to do a diagonal eye of the partridge type heel. It just looks brilliant.

I might need to sonic it.

I might need to sonic it.

And, as I’ve said before, but can’t really say enough, every sock needs to wear a bow tie, because bow ties are cool. (All my socks may soon have bow ties.)

Bow ties on socks are cool

Bow ties on socks are cool

So now the pattern is all done and with a test knitter, but what the hey. I had to have a little photo shoot.

photo shoot

Shooting the socks

Which allows me to present to you, my ‘Thief!’ socks!

FO

FO

4 responses to “I Stole Idris

  1. I really do hope that you will share the magic eye of partridge stripes diagonal heel thingy! Very very cool!

  2. Those are awesome! doctor who rules!
    and your socks are cool

  3. Pingback: Bring me knitting | It Had To Be Knit

Leave a Reply

