Holland Park

One day, I’m going to knit a Nathaniel Squirrel for myself. I seriously love squirrels.

So when in London recently, I dragged my friend off to Holland Park so I could take some new squirrel photos. It’s one of my favourite parks and one of my favourite areas of London. I used to sneak off to visit all the time.

Mounted police in Holland Park

The park itself is partially wild. You take a few steps within the gates and urban London no longer exists.

Doesn’t this look like a Monet painting?

Plus, the park is inhabited by incredibly friendly, nosy squirrels.

Superhero Squirrel just needs a cape

I was kneeling down to photograph a squirrel we befriended when he wiggled up the fence to peer right down into my lens. How cute is this guy?

Hey girl!

If only one could smuggle a squirrel into one’s luggage! Okay, probably not a good idea… I’ll just have to knit one.

Incidentally, I’m just reading the latest Ben Aaronovitch. He’s writing a great urban fantasy series set in London and the local detail and history is incredible (so if you love London, I’d really recommend it). The hero, Peter Grant, is absolutely engaging. He’s a police office, apprentice of magic, and extremely likeable. It’s rather lovely to curl up at the end of the day and see how his investigations are going. I’ve been working my way through a pile of books. I just finished The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter and Size 12 and Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot. Nothing like working your way through some good storytelling!

Leave a Reply

