Jelly Practice

A little jelly pick-me-up

A little jelly pick-me-up

I’ve been playing with jelly lately. I just unmolded this one today. It’s my ‘Rum and Coke, Cherry Float,’ a spin on the concept of the cherry cola float. That is, there’s a layer of rum and cola on the bottom, followed by a layer of vanilla spiked milk, topped up with sour cherries in their juice. It’s really rather delicious… and gives you a pleasant little buzz after a day battling red tape!

The Mysterious Cherry Squirrel

The Mysterious Cherry Squirrel

As an added bonus, I made the jelly in my copper squirrel mold. Although as I was demolding, you can see that the jelly began to slide off the plate!

Cherry layers

Cherry layers

It features a funky layering of cherries.

Speaking of cool layering effects, I’ve been working on the concept of a polka-dot jelly.

Nothing but polka-dots!

Nothing but polka-dots!

Those are cherry tomatoes from the garden suspended in a very simple jelly of lemon and apple cider vinegar, with a few basil leaves for good measure.

A little retro flair

A little retro flair

I love the retro look of it! It’s not perfect yet, but seriously… it’s lovely. I put a thin slice of the jelly on top of cottage cheese and ham as a salad. The jelly isĀ  simply salad dressing, but it doesn’t make everything soggy. Win!

One response to “Jelly Practice

  1. The jellies are very cool!
    But I just can’t eat jelly on salad, even if it is salad dressing. Funny how childhood habits are sometimes so hard to leave behind.

Leave a Reply

