Socks and cookies and jelly, oh my!

Mod Poppy Socks (and Veronica side-eye)

Mod Poppy Socks (and Veronica side-eye)

I’ve been making things. Introducing the Mod Poppy Socks! I’m planning to write up the pattern when I get a minute, so this is sort of the sneak peak (I posted an Instagram picture to enter the Holland Road Yarn Company competition). They’re in Knitsch “Caboose,” which is a fiery orange-red and really suited the wrapped stitch, mod look of the socks.

I finished the second sock while watching the Veronica Mars movie. Seems like just yesterday we were all cheering on the Kickstarter! So worth it. Although, I think Dick Casablancas is now my favourite character. Should I be worried??

What's for supper? Cloned, peanut butter flavoured 10th Doctors.

What’s for supper? Cloned, peanut butter flavoured 10th Doctors.

The Scot wasn’t worried. He came padding through last night looking for supper. I’d baked him a fresh batch of cloned Doctor cookies! I may have too much fun baking dog biscuits.

Best of the British Empire jelly in cherry-coke flavour!

Best of the British Empire jelly in cherry-coke flavour!

I’m also finishing off the triumphant jelly I made. I found the retro-recipe here for a coca-cola salad jelly. Don’t panic – it’s fruit salad-y. You don’t really taste the cola. I used my amazing 19th century mould that features the best of the British Isles. There are Union Jacks, roses, crowns, thistles, four-leaf clover, pineapples, leeks… you name the British symbol, this mould has it! Tremendously difficult to get all the symbols to come out properly, though. I came much closer this time and it tastes amazing.

Retro inspired camera bag

Retro inspired camera bag

I also finished sewing up my new camera bag. I won’t tell you how many sewing machine needles were broken (4) or curse words uttered when turning this in the right way after sewing (still counting). It’s a basic box bag, but with four layers. The lining (retro scooter fabric) is quilted. The exterior fabric (a laminated print of retro cameras) has a very stiff interfacing. That’s a lot of layers to work with for a small bag! Still, all done. There’s a couple of loops to attach a strap for carrying.

And there’s another project almost finished, but I’ll save that for a later post!

2 responses to “Socks and cookies and jelly, oh my!

  1. I just love those socks!

  2. you know, i think dick had most of the best lines. that scene when the lawyer came and he grabbed the hash cookie, too funny. it was lovely to have them all back, may there be lots more Ms Mars in our futures. lots of gorgeous things you are making, gorgeous fabric on the camera bag too!

Leave a Reply

