The Doctor and the Roses: An Adventure

I said I was going to write a proper post about Roses. Then work got in the way. And today was my first day back at the gym after a week off and my legs refuse to move.

I’m basically in need of a nap. So, instead of a ‘proper’ post, what about a little silliness (cheesiness, too!) and reflection? After all, it is the silly season.

Doctor: Run! Roses: But Doctor - if we keep running this way, we run into the Dalek army!

Doctor: Run!
Roses: But Doctor – if we keep running this way, we run into the Dalek army!

Roses has been out almost a week now! The first projects are popping up and I’m awfully intrigued to see how they’ll turn out. As you know, Roses was inspired by the Knitsch sock yarn. The “9th Rose” is a luminous colourway – I just don’t know how Tash concocted such an amazing red. She’s a bit of a genius!

Doctor: Quick! Down into the Forest to the TARDIS. Roses: But Doctor! There might be a bad wolf on the way!

Doctor: Quick! Down into the Forest and follow the path to the TARDIS.
Roses: But Doctor! There might be a bad wolf on the way!

Designing and pattern writing is tricky, though, isn’t it? I write a lot to earn a living and if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that not everyone will understand or like your style. And that’s okay. It’s actually pretty normal. I still hope you’ll like what I create.

As a knitter, too, I’m more of a MacGyver. I’m not technical. That probably comes out in my design process. I like trying things out, adapting, taking what I see around me and using it. I like to tell stories, too, with my designs.

Roses: Doctor! Are you going to just sit there! Doctor: Were there two of you before?

Roses: Doctor! Are you going to just sit there!
Doctor: Were there two of you before?

All the patterns I’ve released so far are connected to storytelling. I think best in stories.

Roses: We've made it out of the Forest, Doctor, but I can't see the TARDIS. Doctor: K-9, were you always that big and fluffy?

Roses: We’ve made it out of the Forest, Doctor, but I can’t see the TARDIS.
Doctor: K-9, were you always that big and fluffy?

BTW, on that last shot, you might notice some dodgy kitchener stitch. Don’t worry! That was my bad (I really need to stop doing Kitchener stitch in the wee hours) and didn’t become obvious till after a couple of washes and a lot of posing! I’m human – I’m not a perfect knitter! And I really should fix that…

2 responses to “The Doctor and the Roses: An Adventure

  1. Nothing wrong with having a bit of fun with your knitwear!

    And yes, pattern writing is really hard – I’ve had to do some for my crochet classes, and there is always someone who doesn’t get how the pattern is written (not their fault, just a different way of seeing things).

  2. hehehe, rose and davie were my favourite pairing, and these socks are a fitting tribute. i dont understand pattern writing at all, it involves maths and i cant do maths. so i am in awe. i hope there are lots of pretty rose socks being worn around the world soon, that must be a good feeling!

Leave a Reply

