Don’t let the space bugs bite!

*With quotes from Wash

Oh my God! It's grotesque! Oh, and there's something in a jar.

Oh my God! It’s grotesque! Oh, and there’s something in a jar.

I know, I know. I have lots of deadlines and a pile of presents to sew, some of which are already late, and what do I do? I finish the binding on my Firefly quilt!

I just couldn’t wait to see what my first quilt would look like all finished and prettified and all.

You're a very "up" person.

You’re a very “up” person.

Pretty, isn’t it?

Ha ha ha, mine is an evil laugh, now die!

Ha ha ha, mine is an evil laugh, now die!

I became a very good customer of Spoonflower, which has a nice selection of Firefly-themed fabrics, but added some other fabrics on the theme: apples, strawberries, dinosaurs, horses, saloons, parasols etc. I wanted the fabrics to reflect the nature of the world in Firefly.

Yeah, we should start dealing in those black market beagles.

Yeah, we should start dealing in those black market beagles.

I thought some cheery polka-dots on the back would do the trick and added the binding made from the apple fabric. I was a bit worried the red and green would get too ‘Christmasy,’ so the apples break that up a bit.

We will rule over all this land and we will call it... This Land.

We will rule over all this land and we will call it… This Land.

And I had it quilted with a dinosaur pattern. It’s very swirly, but if you look, you’ll see the dinosaurs! It seemed appropriate.

I’m so happy with it! It’s far from perfect, but there’s something ever so pleasing about making a quilt. It’s… homey and comforting.

2 responses to “Don’t let the space bugs bite!

  1. There *is* something pleasing about making a quilt! It looks very cool. And squishy and comforting.

  2. aagh i thought i had commented on this but i havent. either way my comment would be THIS IS AWESOME! its gorgeous and funny and you are a very clever clogs! (shoes!)

Leave a Reply

